Making Sense of Climate Science Denial

EVENTS


EVENTS

Discover public national and local events related to learning more about climate change and taking action – whether online, in the streets, or in the auditorium. The more we know, the more effective we will be. And, the more we participate, the more we will build a community of people working for the welfare of our children and our grandchildren.

⭐️ = Of particular national relevance

Icons

VOTE

MARCH

LOCAL

ATTEND

WATCH

Events covering multiple categories will have no icon.

Making Sense of Climate Science Denial

02/11/22

Starting Date : Friday, February 11

Climate change is real, so why the controversy and debate? Learn to make sense of the science and to respond to climate change denial.

In public discussions, climate change is a highly controversial topic. However, in the scientific community, there is little controversy with 97% of climate scientists concluding humans are causing global warming.

Register here

Virtual Town Hall with Secretary Pete Buttigieg

02/11/22

Date : Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Time: 5:00pm – 5:45pm ET / 2:00pm – 2:45pm PT

Transportation is America’s largest source of climate pollution. And our cars, trucks and buses emit other dangerous air toxics that threaten the health of our kids and communities.

That’s why this is such an exciting and pivotal moment for historic investments to modernize our infrastructure and clean up our transportation systems.

As the Biden Administration begins to implement the landmark Bipartisan Infrastructure Bill that was enacted last November, we are thrilled to have the opportunity to talk with the man at the center of it all – Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg.

Register here

$40 Trillion Fossil Fuel Divestment Party

02/11/22

Date : Tuesday, March 1
Time: 9AM PST / 12PM EST / 5 PM GMT

We're ringing in 2022 by celebrating a major movement victory: fossil fuel divestment hits $40 trillion!

Thanks to tireless organizing, over 1500 institutions globally, representing over $40 trillion in assets, have committed to some level of fossil fuel divestment.

We’re giving this $40 T milestone the celebration it deserves: with art, music, and storytelling, let’s center joy, community, and the world we’re building beyond fossil fuels!

Register here

Sea Secrets Lecture Series 2022

02/10/22

Sea Secrets lecture series designed for the non scientific community which is planned for six events, in person AND virtual on zoom. However, the first lecture on Tuesday, January 18 at 7 PM, will be virtual only, due to UM’s current COVID policy.

Here’s the link to the online brochure: https://issuu.com/umiamirsmas/docs/issuu_seasecrets2022v2 where you can register for each lecture.

Join us as we travel the world with distinguished scientists and explorers at the edge of discovery.

A Panel Discussion on Nature-Based Design Enhancements for Offshore Wind

02/04/22

Date : Wednesday, February 9
Time: 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM EST

In this webinar, a panel of experts will be discussing considerations on nature based design enhancements for offshore wind farms. The panel includes Carl Lobe with The Nature Conservancy, Captian Dave Moni with No Fluke Fishing, Annie Murphy with Inspire Environmental Services, and Andrew Rella, with Eco-Concrete.

This webinar is part of the Learning from the Experts series hosted by NYSERDA’s Offshore Wind Team and featuring experts in key offshore wind topics, including wind farm technologies, development practices, regulatory processes, and research initiatives. To learn more about this series, visit http://www.nyserda.ny.gov/osw-webinar-series.

Register for the Webinar

Fighting Fossil Fuels

02/03/22

Date : Wednesday, February 16
Time : 9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. (Hawaiʻi Time) || 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. (Alaska Time) || 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. (Pacific Time) || 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. (Mountain Time) || 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. (Central Time) || 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. (Eastern Time)

From fighting to stop oil, gas, and coal development in our oceans and on public lands to upholding federal regulations limiting drilling and mining that pollute air and groundwater, Earthjustice uses the power of the law to ensure fossil fuels become our past, and clean energy becomes our future.

Join four of Earthjustice’s top litigators for a virtual town hall to hear how we’re taking this toxic industry to court to stop fossil fuels from accelerating the climate crisis and damaging our oceans, public lands, and communities.

Register here